IRB Members

GW IRB Committees Members

The George Washington University (GW) IRBs are composed of more than 40 primary and alternate members representing GW faculty, staff, and students, GW Medical Faculty Associates (MFA), the GW Hospital and non-affiliated members from the local community. With representation from a wide range of scientific disciplines and from outside the academic community, the IRB gives individualized attention to the numerous research projects being conducted by the University and its affiliates.

The IRB is comprised of two independent review committees or panels (Gold Panel 1 & Blue Panel 3). Each panel reviews research in the health and biological sciences and the social and behavioral sciences.

The Department of Health & Human Services (HHS), Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP), and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) oversee the operations of the IRB.

IRB Chairs

  • Gold Panel: David Diemert, MD
  • Blue Panel: Jody Ganiban, PhD

IRB Members

Gold Panel (Panel 1):   

Blue Panel (Panel 3):

Tricia Beckmann, JD

Kelly Chiles, MD, MSc

Keith Boniface, MD  

Fiona Dore, BS

Jeanne Geiger Brown, PhD, RN, FAAN

Jennifer Eyrich-Ferranti, RN

Anne Linton, MS

Richard Lush, PhD

Margot Lurding, MS, CIP

Angela McNelis, PhD, RN, FAAN, ANEF, CNE

Elissa Malkin, DO, MPH

Mark Mishkin, MPH

Lisa Martin, MD

Sheryl Silfen, MD

Mark Prue,  RPH 

Allen Solomon, MD

Claudia Ranniger, MD

Elaine Sullo, MLS, Med

Sheryl Silfen, MD

Doug Ward, MD